SOLE Part 1

In April 2015, I had the pleasure of meeting Sugata Mitra. As part of the Eos International Conference, I was privileged to observe Sugata Mitra deliver a SOLE session at Harstholme Academy and listen to his keynote at the conference itself. Prior to this, I had also watched all of his TED Talks. Since then, I and other colleagues have experimented with SOLE sessions with our pupils. I have also, via Twitter, read numerous blog posts both for and against this method of learning. To be blunt, SOLE is a bit like Marmite; you either love it or you hate it. When it comes to SOLE, it is safe to say that educators have very strong opinions on both sides!

As a result, I decided to make SOLE the focus of our latest Lesson Study at school. For 2 years now, we have used Lesson Study (with great success) as a way of experimenting with and embedding new ideas and pedagogies.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 19.40.11

 

Before the study started, I asked staff to peruse the School in the Cloud website and I posed the following questions…

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 19.40.27

 

Although we call what we do ‘Lesson Study’, we do not follow the process set out at http://lessonstudy.co.uk to the letter. At our school, teachers (in groups of 4-6) plan, deliver and evaluate a lesson. We conduct 3 studies per academic year and each study has a specific focus – e.g. Math through CBL or Writing through SOLE.

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 19.41.48

 

Today, groups planned their SOLE sessions. In my next post (SOLE Part 2), I will share these sessions and attempt to answer MY BIG QUESTION… Are Self Organised Learning Environments an effective way of learning?

Screen Shot 2016-01-13 at 19.42.03

2 comments on “SOLE Part 1

  1. […] last post SOLE Part 1 I outlined the reason/purpose and methodology of this study. In this post, I aim to share […]

  2. […] last post SOLE Part 1 I outlined the reason/purpose and methodology of this study. This week, the sessions were […]

Leave a Reply

